Premier League top scorers 2020-21: Salah, Fernandes & Kane lead

Premier League top scorers 2020-21: Salah, Fernandes & Kane lead

There is no shortage of competition in the goalscoring charts, with candidates from Liverpool, Manchester City and more

The race for the Premier League Golden Boot is typically competitive, with some of the best attackers in world football playing in the division.

A haul of over 20 goals is usually required to come out on top and there are plenty of candidates in the mix this season.

Harry Kane, Sergio Aguero and Mohamed Salah, who have all won the accolade before, should be there or thereabouts, but there is always room for a surprise package.

Goal is compiling the individual goal tallies for the highest-scoring Premier League players this season and you can check it out below.

Premier League 2020-21 Top Scorers

Liverpool striker Mohamed Salah, Everton’s Dominic Calvert-Lewin and Tottenham’s Son Heung-min are the early pace-setters in the race for the Golden Boot, having surged out in front in the opening gameweeks.

Leicester forward Jamie Vardy continues to hit the back of the net for the Foxes with regularity, while Manchester United playmaker Bruno Fernandes has been prolific on the scoresheet, thanks in some part to his status as chief penalty taker at Old Trafford.

Harry Kane has rediscovered a scoring touch that faltered in recent seasons and Leeds United will be pleased with Patrick Bamford’s contributions in front of goal.

You can see the top scorers in the Premier League this season below.

*Up to date as of games played on February 20.

Pos Player Club Goals
1 Mohamed Salah Liverpool 17
2 Bruno Fernandes Man Utd 14
=3 Dominic Calvert-Lewin Everton 13
=3 Harry Kane Tottenham 13
=3 Son Heung-min Tottenham 13
=6 Patrick Bamford Leeds United 12
=6 Jamie Vardy Leicester 12
8 Ilkay Gundogan Man City 11
=9 Callum Wilson Newcastle 10
=9 Ollie Watkins Aston Villa 10
11 Wilfried Zaha Crystal Palace 9
=12 Raheem Sterling Man City 8
=12 Alexandre Lacazette Arsenal 8
=12 Marcus Rashford Man Utd 8
=12 Tomas Soucek West Ham 8
=12 Harvey Barnes Leicester 8
=12 Danny Ings Southampton 8
=12 Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang  Arsenal 8
=19 Sadio Mane  Liverpool 7
=19 James Maddison Leicester 7
=19 Neal Maupay Brighton 7
=22 Jack Grealish Aston Villa 6
=22 Roberto Firmino Liverpool 6
=22 Tammy Abraham Chelsea 6
=22 Edinson Cavani Man Utd 6
=22 Jack Harrison Leeds United 6
=22 Riyad Mahrez Man City 6
=22 Phil Foden Man City 6

Jamie Vardy won the Premier League Golden Boot in 2019-20 after scoring 23 goals in 35 league appearances for Leicester.

It was Vardy’s first time winning the prize, having previously come close in the 2015-16 campaign with a tally of 24 goals – one fewer than that year’s winner Harry Kane.

The former England international finished marginally ahead of Arsenal’s Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang and Southampton’s Danny Ings, who each struck 22 times for their club.

Manchester City winger Raheem Sterling followed with 20 goals, with Salah, Kane and Sadio Mane among the chasing pack.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *